Image via charnsitr / Shutterstock.com
Lightroom’s latest update for its app on the iPhone and iPad unfortunately erased users’ photos and presets.
Adobe has confirmed to
PetaPixel that photos and presets previously synced to the cloud are not “recoverable.”
The issue was first alerted to the company on a
Photoshop feedback forum. A user named Mohamad Alif Eqnur found out that his photos, presets, and watermark data were all gone after he updated the Lightroom app to version 5.4.
Other users also experienced the same issue, with one explaining on the
Lightroom subreddit that they had lost “2+ years of edits” after updating the app. The user said that Adobe has “no fix and that these lost photos are unrecoverable.”
“All I got was a ‘we’re sincerely sorry’ and nothing else. 2+ years of photo edits just gone because of Adobe and all they give is a sorry,” they added.
Yesterday, Adobe officially confirmed in a statement that users who updated to Lightroom 5.4 “may be missing photos and presets.” These, unfortunately, are “not recoverable.” The company also “sincerely apologize[d]” to those affected by the oversight.
The full response was posted on a
forum by Adobe’s Quality Engineer Customer Advocate Rikk Flohr. “We know that some customers have photos and presets that are not recoverable. We sincerely apologize to any customers who have been affected by this issue,” the statement read.
Adobe has also released version 5.4.1, ensuring that this issue will not affect other users.
According to an update on the
Adobe Help site, the issue only affected users who use Lightroom on iPhone and iPad. Lightroom on Android, Desktop and Lightroom Classic are not affected.
I can’t believe I lost 2+ years of edits due to the Lightroom mobile update from r/Lightroom
[via
PetaPixel, opening image via
charnsitr / Shutterstock.com]