Don't miss the latest stories
Advertise Newsletter
Network
  • The Creative Finder
  • The Bazaar
  • Deals
  • Status Is Down
Community
  • Sign up / Log in
  • Discussion Forums
  • Calendar of Events
NEW

Follow

Share this

Apps
Facebook
Smartphones
Technology
  • Technology
MENU
  • Advertise with us
  • Submit tip/feedback
  • Work with us
  • Subscribe to newsletter
  • Subscribe to RSS
Advertise here
Advertisement

WhatsApp Reverses Decision To Delete Accounts, But Will Restrict Functions

By Alexa Heah, 11 May 2021

Subscribe to newsletter
Like us on Facebook

Image via Eliseu Geisler / Shutterstock.com

WhatsApp has tracked back on its decision to delete the accounts of users who refuse to agree to its new privacy policy.

In January, WhatsApp had announced a new privacy policy that would see users’ account data being shared with the message app’s owner, Facebook. According to TechSpot, this new policy would not only share information such as phone numbers, but also stoked fears that Facebook could have access to users’ WhatsApp conversations.

The messaging app had postponed its agreement deadline from February 8 to May 15 due to backlash, but has now decided not to delete any accounts after all.

“No one will have their accounts deleted or lose functionality of WhatsApp on May 15 because of this update,” WhatsApp’s latest FAQ reads.

However, it will up the frequency of its notifications urging users to agree to the update. And after several weeks, the reminder will eventually be persistent. This will result in users experiencing limited functionality on WhatsApp till they agree to the new terms.

Advertisement
Advertisement


As per WhatsApp’s FAQ on the matter, users won’t be able to access their chat lists, though they will still be able to answer incoming phone and video calls. Users will be able to respond to messages via tapping on notifications, but not via the main chat list itself.

After a few weeks with limited functionality, users won’t be able to receive any incoming calls or notifications; and the messaging app will cease sending messages and calls completely.

While WhatsApp has said it won’t delete accounts that don’t accept the update, it essentially will render those accounts useless.

If you’re thinking of opting out of the app, be sure to export your chat history to other messaging apps such as Telegram before the deadline.



[via TechSpot, cover image via Eliseu Geisler / Shutterstock.com]
Receive interesting stories like this one in your inbox
Advertise here

More related news

Advertise here
Also check out these recent news
Web Design
Link to news page

When Your Website Goes Down, This Is the Page Customers Meet Instead

2027
Link to news page

2027 Already Has A Color Of The Year And It’s Beginning On ‘Grounded’ Territory

IKEA
Link to news page

IKEA & Xbox Press Play On Furniture & Storage Inspired By The Iconic Controller

Fashion
Link to news page

Vogue Presents ‘United Flags of Fashion’ With Top Designers For All 50 States

Coca-Cola
Link to news page

Coca-Cola Pours Fresh Life Into Its Iconic Branding With Worldwide Redesign