Having recently released information on its forthcoming ad-supported tier, Netflix is now launching a new ‘Profile Transfer’ feature for users looking to branch out on their own without having to rebuild their entire profile.
Gone is the pain of being kicked off your ex’s Netflix account and having the algorithm relearn your likes and dislikes from scratch.
Now, you can simply opt to send over all of your data, including customized recommendations, history, and any other settings you’re too lazy to toggle with again.
As the streaming platform hopes to crack down on “freeloaders” by offering a cheaper subscription tier and limiting the sharing of accounts to one location, this is no doubt another way it hopes will curb the problem and encourage users to pay for their own accounts.
“People move. Families grow. Relationships end. But throughout these life changes, your Netflix experience should stay the same,” the streamer says.