It turns out you can find out if someone has been keeping tabs on your Facebook profile—but only on the off-chance there’s a glitch.
On Friday, Meta confirmed it fixed an embarrassing bug that automatically sent friend requests to people whose profiles users were snooping on. The company apologized for the inconvenience, telling The Daily Beast that a bug in a recent app update was responsible for this snafu.
umm... you might want to avoid clicking on user profiles on Facebook for a bit. it's auto-sending friend requests. pic.twitter.com/ettkXhvXV1
It was a humbling experience for this writer, who didn’t get a single friend request… anyway, the error was especially awkward for some, who said the platform had sent out requests to people they were trying to block.
The social network has long insisted that there’s no way for anyone to tell if you’ve just checked out their profile. “Facebook doesn’t let people track who views their profile. Third-party apps are also unable to provide this functionality,” the social network emphasizes on its support site. “If you come across an app that claims to offer this ability, please report the app.”
is anyone else’s facebook sending automatic friend request when they click on a profile?? it was the wrong night to go through my year book & stalk ððð