
Photo 100052720 © J P | Dreamstime.com, background generated on AI
A storm in the Adobe cloud has stirred awake, with the industry leader in creative software facing widespread backlash from users following an update to its General Terms of Use. The new rules have sparked concerns about user privacy and ownership, with some going as far as calling them “spyware-like.”
Last updated in February, the terms now mandate users to grant the company unrestricted access to their projects for “content review” and other unspecified purposes. This broad access provision includes all projects, and presumably even those that are legally shrouded in secrecy by non-disclosure agreements (NDAs).
The terms of use define “content” as any creative work, encompassing audio files, videos, electronic documents, and images, that users upload, import, or create within the software.
Fueling anxieties further, the updated terms outline Adobe’s ability to access and scrutinize user creations through both automated and manual methods, including the use of machine learning. This has raised suspicions about the firm intending to leverage all user-generated content to train its artificial intelligence models.
Of note is Section 4.2 of the documentation, which has stipulated that subscribers grant Adobe a worldwide, royalty-free, and sublicensable license to “use, reproduce, publicly display, distribute, modify, create derivative works based on, publicly perform, and translate” their creations. Many users have interpreted this clause as a blatant disregard for their ownership rights, finding it particularly offensive.
To add insult to injury, frustrated users have discovered they can’t uninstall Adobe programs like Photoshop without first agreeing to the revised terms.
In response to the outcry, Adobe’s design leader Scott Belsky has clarified that the company “does NOT train any GenAI models on customer’s content,” and emphasizes the existence of “tight security” surrounding any entry to user content.
Belsky acknowledges that Adobe’s role in storing cloud documents necessitates “some degree of access” under specific circumstances, such as indexing files for search functionality or updating areas within Creative Cloud libraries.
The incident does show that users have become warier of the fine print and about what rights they could be surrendering before clicking “accept.”
[via The Stack, 80 Level, Niche Gamer, images via various sources]