Don't miss the latest stories

Follow us

Share this

Artists Listed For 2010 Whitney Biennial

Subscribe to DesignTAXI
Like us on Facebook
25 February 2010 - 30 May 2010
The Whitney Museum of American Art has announced the list of artists participating in the upcoming Whitney Biennial in 2010, the 75th in the ongoing series of Biennials and Annuals presented by the Whitney since 1932, two years after the museum was founded. The 55 artists were selected by curator Francesco Bonami and associate curator Gary Carrion-Murayari.

Curators Bonami and Carrion-Murayari said, “The Whitney Biennial continues to reflect the way in which art is shaped by the particular historical moment in which it was created. The artists selected for this year’s exhibition reflect diverse responses to the anxiety and optimism of the past two years. 2010 does not privilege any one medium or aesthetic style, but rather assembles a wide range of individual gestures, personal histories, and improvised encounters that speak to a sense of openness and community.”

The Biennial is the Whitney’s panoramic signature survey of the latest in American art. It includes a blend of well established artists together with a predominance of emerging artists from all over the country. Their works range from film and video to photography, painting, sculpture, drawing, installation, performance, and architecture. Performances and events will take place at the Museum throughout the course of the show. This year the events and performances are concentrated on Friday evenings in both the Lobby Gallery and Lower Gallery. A 2010 Biennial artist, Martin Kersels, is creating a sculptural installation in the Lobby Gallery that also functions as a stage for curatorial programs involving artists, writers, musicians, choreographers, and DJs.

The Artists of the Whitney Bienial, 2010:

David Adamo, Richard Aldrich, Michael Asher, Tauba Auerbach, Nina Berman, Huma Bhabha, Josh Brand, The Bruce High Quality Foundation, James Casebere, Edgar Cleijne and Ellen Gallagher, Dawn Clements, George Condo, Sarah Crowner, Verne Dawson, Julia Fish, Roland Flexner, Suzan Frecon, Maureen Gallacw, Theaster Gates, Kate Gilmore, Hannah Greely, Jesse Aron Green, Robert Grosvenor, Sharon Hayes, Thomas Houseago, Alex Hubbard, Jessica Jackson Hutchins, Jeffrey Inaba, Martin Kersels, Jim Lutes, Babette Mangolte, Curtis Mann, Ari Marcopoulos, Daniel McDonald, Josephine Meckseper, Rashaad Newsome, Kelly Nipper, Lorraine O’Grady, R.H. Quaytman, Charles Ray, Emily Roysdon, Aki Sasamoto, Aurel Schmidt, Scott Short, Stephanie Sinclair, Ania Soliman, Storm Tharp, Tam Tran, Kerry Tribe, Piotr Uklański, Lesley Vance, Marianne Vitale, Erika Vogt, Pae White and Robert Williams.


Eleven of the artists have shown in past Whitney Biennials: James Casebere and George Condo in the 1980s, Suzan Frecon in 2000, Hannah Greely in 2006, Robert Grosvenor in the 1960s and 70s, Martin Kersels in 1997, Jim Lutes in 1987, Ari Marcopoulos in 2002, Josephine Meckseper in 2006, Charles Ray several times in the 1980s and 90s; Ray, who also had a solo retrospective at the Whitney in 1998, makes a departure from his previous work with his installation in 2010. Ellen Gallagher had a Whitney solo show, DeLuxe, a series of works on paper, in 2005, and was in the 1995 Biennial; this time she is partnering with the Dutch artist Edgar Cleijne on a film installation that includes sculptural construction and silk screened panels. Michael Asher, well known as a West Coast pioneer of conceptual art, was in the Whitney’s seminal Anti-Illusion show in 1969.

As a prelude, counterpoint, and coda to the Biennial, the Museum’s fifth floor is devoted to artists in the Whitney’s collection whose works were shown in Biennials over the past eight decades. Collecting Biennials, opening on January 16, is installed as a kind of historical survey within the Biennial, underscoring the importance of previous Biennial exhibitions in the Museum’s history and the formation of its collection. A new work by one of the artists in 2010, George Condo, is also included in the mix. Collecting Biennials begins nearly six weeks before the rest of the Biennial and remains on view until July 2010.

Included in Collecting Biennials are such well known artists as Richard Artschwager, Milton Avery, Matthew Barney, Ashley Bickerton, Peter Blume, Lee Bontecou, Vija Celmins, Bruce Connor, Willem de Kooning, Richard Diebenkorn, Robert Gober, Philip Guston, David Hammons, Duane Hanson, Eva Hesse, Edward Hopper, Jasper Johns, Mike Kelley, Liz Larner, Sherrie Levine, Glenn Ligon, Sylvia Plimack Mangold, Robert Morris, Cady Noland, Claes Oldenburg, Paul Pfeiffer, Jackson Pollock, Richard Prince, Robert Rauschenberg, Charles Ray, Ad Reinhardt, Mark Rothko, Ed Ruscha, Julian Schnabel, Cindy Sherman, George Tooker, Cy Twombly, Andy Warhol, and Sue Williams.

Melva Bucksbaum, a Whitney trustee since 1996, launched The Bucksbaum Award in 2000. In addition to Omer Fast, who received the award in 2008 and has an exhibition titled Nostalgia on view at the Whitney now through February 14, 2010, the previous recipients are Paul Pfeiffer (2000), Irit Batsry (2002), Raymond Pettibon (2004), and Mark Bradford (2006). The Bucksbaum Award, created and produced by Tiffany & Co., is given every two years in recognition of an artist, chosen from those included in the Biennial, whose work demonstrates a singular combination of talent and imagination. The selected artist is considered by the jurors to have the potential to make a lasting impact on the history of American art, based on the excellence of past work as well as present work in the Biennial. In addition to receiving a $100,000 grant, each Bucksbaum laureate is invited to present an exhibition at the Whitney, sometime within the succeeding two years. The recipient of the 2010 Bucksbaum Award will be announced during the course of the Biennial; a publication marking the tenth anniversary of the award will be issued in April.

A series of “My Turn” programs will take place on six Friday evenings during the Biennial. “My Turn,” a Whitney program which began in summer 2009, invites artists to create events that are an extension of their process and method. Taking their work on view as a point of departure, six Biennial artists, including Martin Kersels, Ari Marcopoulos, and Aki Sasamoto, among others, will explore a key aspect of their practice to create distinctive evenings of performance, discussion, demonstration, and engagement.

For 2010, the Whitney will produce thirty-five short videos, directed by Pierce Jackson, exploring five main areas of the exhibition: the curators, the artists, parties and performances, the production of the show, and visitor reactions. This content will be available on, YouTube,, iTunes, and other outlets. The first videos in the series will introduce the Biennial curators and the practices and personalities of various Biennial artists.
Receive interesting stories like this one in your inbox
Advertise here

More news on

Also check out these recent news