Don't miss the latest stories

Follow us

Share this

Brno Biennale 2008

Subscribe to DesignTAXI
Like us on Facebook

Brno Biennale
Moravian Gallery in Brno Husova 18, cz-662 26 Brno

30 November 2007

The Brno Biennale was established in 1963, and is thus the oldest exhibition of graphic design in the world. It regularly alternates between two subjects. The 23 year will be dedicated to graphic design, illustration and type in books, magazines, newspapers and the digital media, while the 2010 Biennale will focus on corporate, informational and advertising graphics and posters.

Apart from the main competition show, the Brno Biennale features a specialist symposium and a number of accompanying events, thanks to which Brno becomes a major centre of contemporary graphic design for four months. The international symposium will be held on 18 - 19 June 2008. Its subject is What's Next in Graphic Design. The preliminary list of presenters include:


- Andy Altmann, Great Britain
- Palo Balik, Slovak Republic
- Jonathan Barnbrook, Great Britain
- Petra cerne Oven, Slovinia / Great Britain
- Linda van Deursen, Nederland
- William Drenttel and Jessica Helfand, USA
- Otakar Karlas, Czech Republic
- Michal Nanoru, Czech Republic
- Gertrud Nolte, Germany
- Pierre di Sciullo, France
- Nial Sweeney a Nigel Truswell (Studio PONY), Ireland / Great Britain
- Fumio Tachibana, Japan
- Lucille Tenazas, USA
- John L. Walters, Great Britain

A Czech/English interpretation service is provided. A detailed conference programme will be available approximately three months before the event.

Exhibition Categories
- books and exhibition catalogues
- digital and audiovisual media covers -
- magazines and newspapers
- type design
- digital media

Pre-selection Committee
Karel Aubrecht (Czech Republic)
Pavol B lik (Slovakia)
Olga Bene ov (Czech Republic)
Marek Pistora (Czech Republic)
Ale Najbr t (Czech Republic)
Marek Pokorn (Czech Republic)
Marta Sylvestrov (Czech Republic)
Krisztina Szomogyi (Hungary)
Rostislav Van?k (Czech Republic)

InternatIonal Jury
Jonathan Barnbrook (Great Britain)
Petra ?erne Owen (Slovenia / Great Britain)
Otakar Karlas (Czech Republic)
Zuzana Lednick (Czech Republic)
Ger trud Nolte (Germany)
Fumio Tachibana Brno Biennale 2004 Grand prix winner (Japan) Lucille Tenazas (USA)

Deadline for submission of exhibits: 30 November 2007.
Receive interesting stories like this one in your inbox
Advertise here

More news on

Also check out these recent news