Journaling ideas since 2003
Advertise with us Subscribe to newsletter

Follow us

Share this

Warning: Malware Disguised As Email Notification On Facebook



According to Mashable, there is new strain of malware circulating Facebook—disguising itself as a Facebook notification email that encourages members to view tagged photos as an attachment.

If the infected link is clicked, a ZIP file containing malware will allow hackers to gain control over Windows-operated computers.

A normal Facebook email notification usually states the name of the friend who tagged you in a picture, however, the malware notification will state, “one of your friends added a new photo with you to the album.”

Here is what the fake notification looks like:



[via Mashable, images via Naked Security & Facebook]
Receive interesting stories like this one in your inbox
 
Subscribe to our email newsletter
Prefer RSS instead?
Advertise here

More news on
Social Media

Also check out these recent news
Never miss our stories again! ×
Subscribe to our newsletter

Follow us on