Don't miss the latest stories
WhatsApp Now Lets You ‘Unsend’ Embarrassing And Accidental Messages
By Izza Sofia, 30 Oct 2017
WhatsApp is finally rolling out a new feature that will allow users to delete messages sent to groups or individuals. Evidence of its existence was reported earlier last month.
The new feature is easy enough to use. Simply tap the message you want to remove and select the “Delete” option. You can also select multiple messages at the same time if you feel like you’ve really messed up. Deleted messages will then be replaced with a message reading “This message was deleted.”
As handy as this feature is, there are some limitations that are worth bearing in mind such as the time limit. Messages may only be deleted within seven minutes of being sent. After that, they are as permanent as any message sent by WhatsApp.
Another limitation is that the sender and the recipient are required to have the latest version of the WhatsApp app downloaded on their devices. “Recipients may see your message before it's deleted or if deletion was not successful,” warned WhatsApp in a FAQ page. “You will not be notified if deleting for everyone was not successful.”
The final caveat regarding this feature is that it might not be available for everyone just yet. If it has not already been activated, you can try reinstalling the app, but there is no guarantee that the new feature will be functional.
[via Lifehacker, opening image via Twitter]
More related news
Also check out these recent news