Optical Illusion At Horse Race Results In The Wrong Winner Being Awarded
By Izza Sofia, 22 Aug 2019
Image via Shutterstock
Which horse do you think won the race?
A mind-blowing illusion has tricked the horse racing world, with the judge at a competition initially announcing a horse named Loving Glance as the winner of the race.
However, upon further inspection of a photo finish, the winning title was awarded to another horse, Albadr, instead.
The race, held at Matchbook Novice Stakes in Kempton, England, saw both horses crossing the line together, so judges had to look at the photo finish to verify which contestant won.
In spite of this, they were still confused as Loving Glance—whose jockey was donning an orange jersey—seemed to have inched further towards the line.
Loving Glance was thus crowned the winner, but the result was amended after stewards found out that they had made a mistake after outlining Albadr’s silhouette.
The latter’s head was sticking out ahead of Loving Glance’s in the photo, touching the line first. Loving Glance had its head down, putting it in second place.
The British Horseracing Authority announced that the mass confusion was rectified by the Chief Steward through verification procedures, and officially declared Albadr as the winner.
The judge at Kempton initially called Loving Glance the winner but, in fact, Albadr (4/1) got up. Something of an optical illusion. pic.twitter.com/cgzws2JsQ5— Racing TV (@RacingTV) August 20, 2019
Albadr - red outline... clearly won when highlighted like that but close at first glance... pic.twitter.com/QacdpYPhNy— ShaneQuinn (@ShanoQuinn) August 20, 2019
[email protected]} (@FlatRacinGuruUK) August 20, 2019
I am so bloody confused— Off To The Races (@OTTR_Elliot) August 20, 2019
ALBADR or LOVING GLANCE pic.twitter.com/TDAKMvoJvl
[via Racing TV, opening image via Shutterstock]
More related news