Instagram Bows Out To Apple To Let Users Delete Their Accounts In-App
By Alexa Heah, 01 Jul 2022
If you ever decide to go on a social media cleanse, you’ll now be able to delete your Instagram account directly from the app.
Meta has finally added a feature that will allow users to deactivate or delete their accounts on iOS, in response to updated Apple App Store guidelines that now require all applications to offer both account creation and deletion capabilities within the application itself.
"If your app supports account creation, you must also offer account deletion within the app… You may include additional options, but only offering to temporarily deactivate or disable an account is insufficient,” states Apple’s guidelines.
As SlashGear notes, Apple also specifies that when an account is deleted, all content must be permanently wiped from the developers’ records, and that simply offering users a way to disable their account was no longer allowed.
Once you’ve deleted your account, Instagram will give you an additional 30 days to reverse the process before your details are permanently removed. To stop the deletion, simply log back into your account during the time period to reactivate it.
Will more people choose to wipe their Instagram accounts now that it’s more convenient to do so? We’re not sure if we’re ready to give up scrolling just yet.
More related news