On Tuesday,Instagramannounced some updates to the app in honor of Safer Internet Day. One of these new features is the ability for users to delete posts and comments in bulk rather than going through their feed and doing it individually.
A new profilesection will be rolled out, titled ‘Your activity’. Here, users will be able to review not just their posts but also their past interactions on the app, including feed, Reel, and Story posts. The user’s likes and comments on others’ posts will also be available to view here.
Deleted andarchived content, which currently lives in its own separate menu section, will also be accessible via ‘Your activity’, in addition to search history and links that the user opened through a post.
This new section will be placed under the menu accessible on the top right on a user’s profile page.
Another securityfeature the social media platform is introducing, in line with online safety measures, is being more transparent about reports. ‘Account Status’ will display information about any posts that may have been removed for potentially violating guidelines, as well as letting users know if their account is at risk of being disabled.
PetaPixel notes that these numerous new safety measures may have been in response to the widespread scrutiny Instagram, and its parent company Meta, has been under since it was revealed late last year that it was highly detrimental to young people, who make up most of the social media platform’s user base.