Image via Google
Google has announced that it may delete your files on Google Drive if you don’t check in every once in a while.
The company’s new plan states that it will begin deleting files if the service hasn’t been opened or checked in two years. This radical move aims to clean up abandoned content from forgotten accounts that may just be laying around for no use.
“We’re introducing new policies for consumer accounts that are either inactive or over their storage limit across Gmail, Drive (including Google Docs, Sheets, Slides, Drawings, Forms, and Jamboard files) and/or Photos to better align with common practices across the industry,” Google explains in
a blog post.
“If you’re inactive in one or more of these services for two years (24 months), Google may delete the content in the product(s) in which you're inactive,” the tech giant continues.
Google will implement the new system from 1 June 2021, and claims that it will send multiple reminders to users through email and notifications before removing the content. The company’s support page also says users will be alerted “at least three months” before the two-year mark.
[via
Mashable, cover image via
Google]